Family – Our Life’s Story

20161028_202843During Thanksgiving break, my English class partook in a project where we all interviewed somebody in our family about their life. This was in preparation for Thanksgiving, a time where we gather as a family to express our love, gratitude, and overall thankfulness for being in each other’s lives and hearts.

For me, I interviewed my mom, and in doing so, I learned a lot more about my family’s history. Listening to her life’s story made me realize my family’s history – the struggle my family had to go through while living in Vietnam, the difficulties my grandparents faced raising their children in poverty, and how fortunate I am to live in America. I am privileged to be in a loving family and to be cared for by both my family and friends.

After this enlightening project, I can say that I feel more appreciative of everyday aspects of my life. I learned a valuable lesson of life: be grateful for what you have, and don’t take things for granted.

Leave a Reply

